The work in Effurun extended from Warri. It started in Ugborikoko around 1978 by one    Godwin Erigwho and Late Mama Aghede’s who is provided the first place of worship in her house. Later, the W. Abovwe, Enemana, I. U. Ndeke, J. Amadi and Dr. J. Adugbo’s families joined. The District was recognised out of Warri District in 1997. Since then, the District has grown steadily until it was recognised into two April 2012. The first pastor of Effurun District is Pastor C. Ogah followed by pastors J. E. Umoru, G. Mokobia, J. I. Arebun, J. Ikhane and again, J. I. Arebun. Effurun has 2 organized churches, 3 companies and 793 baptized members. It has its headquarters at Kodesoh